South Edinburgh District Seniors Golf League – History


The League was founded in 1994. Eddie Dobson and Jim Stewart, two Senior Members at Glencorse G.C. were the leagues “founding fathers” … click >here< to read more.

The original League Rules were drawn up with the emphasis being that the League would “foster Seniors social golf in an amicable but competitive manner in the best golfing traditions”.

This ethos still holds good to-day and has been adopted in the League slogan.


1994   Initial Meeting of 9 Clubs hosted by Glencorse G.C.
1995   Inaugural season.
Mortonhall G.C. are the first winners and receive the League Trophy presented by
Glencorse G.C.
First End of Season Stableford held at Glencorse G.C. on Tuesday, 24th October.
1996   Merchants of Edinburgh G.C. admitted.
2005   Haddington G.C. admitted, bringing the number of Clubs to 11 and so creating a balance of 5 Home and Away matches each season.
Broomieknowe G.C. establish the first website.
2009   Lothianburn G.C. go through the season undefeated with 8 wins and 2 draws.
2010   Mortonhall G.C. win League with a 100% record.
2011   The League Trophy is engraved as a tribute to the Founders with the words:
“In memory of the Founders Eddie Dobson and Jim Stewart, Glencorse Golf Club”.
2013   Lothianburn G.C. & Torphin Hill G.C. withdraw from the League.
2014   Prestonfield G.C. & Kingsknowe G.C. admitted.
2019 Inaugural Inter-District Cup with Linlithgowshire G A.
25th Anniversary EOSS @ Kingsknowe.